Word…

It was World Book Day 8 days ago. A worldwide celebration of books and reading ♥ And there are all sorts of discounts to be had till the end of the month so check these out.

Not that we really need to in our home cause this is how my bedside looks at any given time…

I obviously have an issue with focus. And the lure of seduction. Cause I read several books on the go. And I read very s.l.o.w.l.y. Kinda like I watch movies. Or box-sets. If I miss a raised eyebrow, a syllable, anything … it’s pause and rewind. So I re-read a lot. It’s an ever increasing pile. Piles. Piles of piles.

So Spouse got the Bourdain book for his birthday. Yes I’ve been reading this since November. His life post Kitchen Confidential and it isn’t as good. Success just ruins a good life-story sometimes 😉 In the midst of which I stopped off at Dubai Airport and picked up the Tamara Chalabi book. From Mesopotamia to modern day Iraq. How could I resist that jacket with The Battle Of The Ravens And The Owls? And what IS tea at the Deer Palace like? Then of course Candy Girl tossed me the tome on Fort Galle. Her peace-offering for going without me. I was enjoying smoking the pipe. Till whilst perusing some bookshelves in Melaka I just happened upon this ancient copy of The Plums Hang High. Never heard of it. But it’s obviously contraband. An unreturned library book from 1957. It has that intoxicating bouquet of old ink on aged paper. I need. So was browsing in MPH and came across one of my all-time favourites  – To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s the 50th Anniversary ♥ HAVE TO RE-READ. But then KLT messages – her Amy Chua copy is available. So yeah – yes please. Voila – my current pile. Put the kettle on please.

And don’t forget the milk and cookies.

xox

About goddessmoments

Am happiest when exploring our ever-shrinking big blue marble with my camera in hand.
This entry was posted in Family, Stuff and Snippets. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Word…

  1. Azlina Ali says:

    I know what you mean Shireen. I am very much the same and worse is I can’t help buying either … a sale, an attractive cover, one I can’t remember reading!Happy reading my dear!

  2. Pia Zain says:

    I love the way you write 🙂

  3. Afizah says:

    Ooooh, book piles on the nightstand are always a sight for sore eyes. Am always ready to hear anyone talk about their tomes on the go!

  4. Viji Krishnamoorthy says:

    Shireen, please bring the Tea at the deer Palace to the gym one day…it looks gorgeous!

  5. Afizah Aziz says:

    More please!

  6. Nur Suraya says:

    Love this post.

  7. ‎@Azie – Thanks love. Now just need to find the time 🙂

    @Pia – Thank you ♥

    @Viji – Will do.

    @ Ola – Am always inspired by your library!

    @Su – Thank you 🙂

  8. Hartini Zainudin says:

    i’ve got, Let the Great world spin’, Natural Flights of the HUman Mind, Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom and ..yes, I caved in, Dr. Mahathir’s, A Doctor in the House’ and The Idea of Justice…semua tak baca from December. Love this post,with photographs…love all your postslah!

  9. Sydney says:

    I Love the Plums Hang High! I’m jealous you have a copy!

Leave a comment