Gula Melaka Life…

So exactly one short week after Spouse and I were last here uncelebrating love, I find myself crossing the cool tiled threshold of The Majestic yet again. This time with Sprig in tow. Did I ever mention that I was born in Melaka? I only lived here for 90-something days but the Peranakan blood runs thick πŸ™‚ I love this place. And a heady whirlwind romance was in the offing for SprigΒ β™₯

There’s the seductive lure of food of course…

A dinner date with her beloved Poppa…

The kaleidoscopic night-life up close…

Oh … and always … scoping the new superchic hotspots with Momma…

And the ONE thing that tops all that is waking up the next morning to breakfast in bed… or rather all over the bed…

We think room service is the definitely the best invention since cooking πŸ˜‰

Especially when there’s a choice of weetabix or congee. When in doubt have both of course. And rich nyonyaΒ kaya thickly spread on warm croissant is our new favourite food, incidentally. And crushed peanut biscuits. And ondeh-ondeh. Ooooh … liquid goldenΒ gula melaka … nothing in life is lovelierΒ β™₯

JOY.

And naturally I had to gift Sprig ‘The Becha (trishaw) Experience‘…

They’re a gaudily decked out tourist trap these days of course. But I am hugely sentimental about them. As a child visiting my grandmother in nearby Muar – becha rides were The Big Treat for my sisters, my cousin and me. Our parents would hire a couple of regular pedalers and their much-loved contraptions and pack us all off for a couple of hours peace. It was magic. Bumpy, thrilling and better than flying carpets. Cause these were real and went down narrow alleys to places our parents never took us πŸ™‚

So Sprig and I – we did it all…

And though we had a little moment outside the famed fort…

It was nothing the befriending of a kitkat couldn’t immediately rectify πŸ™‚

Yeah she soon got the hang of it all πŸ™‚

Just like I’m sure she was taking in the history πŸ™‚

Oh and mystory tooΒ β™₯

xox

About goddessmoments

Am happiest when exploring our ever-shrinking big blue marble with my camera in hand.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Gula Melaka Life…

  1. Liza Ramli says:

    Hmm…I think I’ll make some ondeh ondeh this weekend. πŸ™‚

  2. Deborah Fiona Nonis says:

    I love this post! Melaka is one of my favourite places to visit and your exploration with your little one reminds me of the days when Cat and I used to do the same on the odd occasion when we would tag along with Hannes on some business trip or other – this one of yours in Melaka reminds me of the one we did in Manila somehow. Will dig up those photos one day and scan in for you to see πŸ™‚

  3. Jaslena Ahmad says:

    Shireen, I dont know whats the matter with me today. I saw all these pics and tears started trickling down my cheeks. Your pics speak volumes about the love you have for your family….something that should be bottled up and sold to some much needed parts of the world today. β™₯

  4. Deborah Fiona Nonis says:

    I think it’s also all that nostalgia … her stories of what she and sisters and cousins used to do as kids and how she wrote about it …..
    Shireen – you have a talent with words πŸ™‚

  5. Jen Koay says:

    Yup totally agree, hands and feet up hoot hoot πŸ™‚

  6. β€Ž@Liza – yes please do and send some over πŸ™‚ X

    @Debs – Thank you – you are too kind. Do scan and post your pics! Would love to see them. I’m so bad at scanning old pics – so sad to see them fade/disintegrate – but never seem to find the time 😦 X

    @Jas – awwww babe! Thank you – again too kind. Have been majorly spring cleaning the past 2 days and found so much old much-treasured evidence of time passing too quickly. Photos, cards, letters … maybe that came through when i was writing this morning… X

    @ Jen – thank you!! X

  7. Leena Rashid says:

    I discovered the croissant-kaya combination years ago at Pangkor Laut. Isn’t it quite heavenly? Kaya is the new golden nectar!

  8. Liza Ramli says:

    Shireen: not made them since school. Let’s see what turns out. Leena:butter melting on croissant…slap on kaya…devour…and simultaneously watch hips expand. Worth every little inch!

  9. Feezy Alhady says:

    cool!!!! my mother in law is also a peranakan

  10. Nur Suraya says:

    Isn’t it great if the whole country preserve their old shop houses like those in Bandar Melaka? πŸ™‚ β™₯

  11. β€Ž@Liza – I’m sure they’ll be scrummy πŸ™‚

    @Leena – yes it’s a wonderful combination πŸ™‚ I’m still partial to my grandmother’s homemade kaya though and since that is no longer available it has to come from Muar or Melaka only πŸ™‚

    @Su – yes they’ve done a great job. The Baba Nyonya museum is just lovely and in amongst all the tourist crap there are still old traditions/real lives going about their daily ‘thing’ πŸ™‚

  12. Tini says:

    Becha rides…you did becha rides. “By the lighhhhht, of the ssillllvery Moon, I want to spoon, with my honey, I’ll croon, love tunes! Honeymoon…” I love our becha rides…oh wow! How fun to go becha riding with Julia….love those carefree days!!! Best time in Muar!

  13. Hartini Zainudin says:

    Love,love,love….Muar and becha rides!

  14. Amarprit Kailay says:

    all this kaya talk has made me hungry… here we get hainanese kaya with honey..bottled in singapore, quite yummy i must say..
    ipoh @grandma’s was where we cousins congregated..

  15. Candice says:

    Sweet post Shireen…love the b/w treatment of the first few piccies πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

