Happy Birthday To Me…

So yesterday was my birthday. And I spent the morning indulging in that almost-mythical luxury of doing nothing at all ♥ I lay-in-bed and read-in-fits between almost-naps. If I’d managed marathon-reading and actual-sleep it woulda been perfect 🙂

So in this rare whitelight Nirvana-Bubble of reflection I was wondering what exactly my gifts to myself in annual celebration of growth (ok ok aging) would be?

And seriously? This is what I’d wish for. You listening up there??

I’d want to spend a whole lot more time with my children. Never missing taking Sprig to music class or being late picking up Sprog. Inhaling adoring nurturing protecting guiding listening befriending them. And then knowing when to let them fly … that’s a tough one …

I’d want to travel a whole lot more. Discover mystical horizons. Delight in new cultures new tastes new scents new sounds new thoughts. Rolling around in the soil of anywhere and soaking it all in.

So what I really need? Is to be TWO people.

Not finished.

I’d want to have the time to read ALL those books on my shelves, next to my bed, on the floor, in my friends libraries. The ones that transport and inspire and instruct and enlighten.

I’d want to watch ALL those movies I always said I would. The ones that won awards, that no one’s heard of, the latest independent, the old classics, that feed my soul, that make me laugh, that make me think, that bring out the eveready cynic 🙂

O-kay! So what I really want is to be FOUR people.

That established? I had a lovely birthday ♥  I saw a perfect ball of orange light sinking…

Orange Sun Sets Over The Blue Nile, Khartoum. November 2010

And 2 decades after sailing up the Lower Nile, I walked along the Upper ♥

With My Man …

Light Shadow The Nile

He who gets it and puts up with me ♥

Tutti Bridge

He who always always feeds me well…

With dinner reservations at Khartoum’s much-touted ‘jewel’ …

♥♥♥

Oh and back to that wish list?

It goes without saying that I would want food, shelter and love for every single child.

Oh and world peace.

😉

xox

About goddessmoments

Am happiest when exploring our ever-shrinking big blue marble with my camera in hand.
This entry was posted in Food, Stuff and Snippets, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Birthday To Me…

  1. nadia says:

    Happy birthday!

    Love the photographs, specially the 6th one from the top … or the last one because I could never take nice pictures of food after sunset … or the second one because it shows a perfect, tranquil sunset … or … Yeah, I think I love them all 🙂

    May all your wishes come true.

  2. Karen Loong says:

    Lol world peace. U made me chuckle there! He’s to aging greycefully!!

Leave a Reply

