Between A Hard Rock & The Murky Sea…

So Spouse left at some ungodly hour this morning to undertake the godlike task 0f his second Penang Bridge Run. Way to go Spouse! Yesss I pulled out ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It seemed errrr … wise. Given I haven’t actually pulled on my running shoes since the last PBR a whole 364 days ago. I’ve been busy this past year ๐Ÿ™‚

Kinda like yesterday was busy โ™ฅ

And this is not shaping up to be a single-snap post. This one’s a half-marathon too ๐Ÿ™‚

We’re here at the Hard Rock Hotel for the weekend and this place really isn’t my cup of Darjeeling. It isn’t a judgement. Loads love it. I think the fiber optic signage at the lobby entrance is very cool. And the Beatles memorabilia too ๐Ÿ™‚

I used to visit this exact spot as a child. It was called The Casuarina back then. I remember sun-dappled grounds with secret magical nooks. The beach was soft warm powder blanketed by thousands of tiny casuarina cones. The sea was clear. The days were long and languid. The hot salt breezes only served to fan giant imaginations in little souls. We just knew that behind the next clump of trees we could walk the plank with pirates, party with the elves, stumble through the looking-glass, down the rabbit-hole. There were no purple plastic waterslides. No disembodied voice telling us over a PA system what to do cause ‘it’s so much fun’.ย And no-one quadbiked.

BUT I am easily bought. Give my family a table on the beach… Breakfast with sand between our toes… And I’m happy ๐Ÿ™‚

Serve up a decent congee and you have me purrrrring…

This weekend we brought Emalyn along to help us as Sprig’s at the age where she runs off and doesn’t listen…

Coming to think of it neither does Sprog…

But I’m happy that Sprig finds her secrets and nooks…

… her magic in the mundane…

And am totally in awe of how she dances with Poppa…

Cause I’m shamelessly in love with my familyย โ™ฅ

And how he just loves on her…

And Sprog took the following couple of pics of Spouse and I parasailing. The dramatic highlight of our day. Soaring high in a happy sky… Before the boat engine just cut… And we dropped… literally!!… like lead balloons!! Splashing into the sea and bobbing in our lifejackets waiting to be rescued isn’t all that much fun when you’re tangled-up in parasail rope. But sometimes that’s life and often that’s our life – unexpected big splashes that add texture to our life’s landscape ๐Ÿ˜‰

So since I was all soaked through anyway… I grabbed Sprig for a session in the Spray and Play area…

After which coloured poolside drinks accompanied by Sprog’s Big Splash are always a good thing…

And the night view from my room is pretty hypnotic after the band and the hordes have all packed up ๐Ÿ˜‰

So we’re leaving this Rock later today. Exhausted. Rested. Happy ๐Ÿ™‚ With new memories created of an old place rememberedย โ™ฅ

And Some Sprig is celebrating turning ONE todayย โ™ฅ We’ll have a special quieter one after the huge fuss of last week ๐Ÿ™‚ And natch-u-rally she’ll be reflecting on the ebb and flow of the past 12 months ๐Ÿ˜‰

xox

About goddessmoments

Am happiest when exploring our ever-shrinking big blue marble with my camera in hand.
This entry was posted in Family, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Between A Hard Rock & The Murky Sea…

  1. tini zainudin says:

    This,I feel, is the best entry so far! So much love and joy! Brought tears to my eyes! Happy family,Shir! You deserve it! Happy birthday, Julia Ming! Well run, Juarez!

  2. ras adiba radzi says:

    It’s my fav also Shireen, am so so touched at your pics and story telling-it’s everyones dream family. Big hug to all ! Much love.Deep

  3. Pia says:

    Oh my goodness Goddess. I love love love this post so. Happy Birthday to the most beautiful Sprig dancer girl. Joy and light to all of you. Thank you for letting us in on your big big love.

  4. Ida says:

    Love this babes!
    Happy 1st Birthday little darling Sprig!

  5. Dian Pasquinal says:

    I love this entry shireen!! the captures and proses are both very heart-warming…

Leave a Reply

