Hamam Time…

Tis the season to be merry… and married … we have 3 glittering nights of Wedding coming up and a for-certain-sumptuous Christmas Dinner to attend, followed by hosting Christmas Lunch at home, Sprog’s ski trip to pack for … and yet more prepping, cooking, decorating, shopping, wrapping still to be done … all in the next 4 days. Year-end is always jam-packed. Our birthday season just rolls seamlessly into all this :) But as a family we’ve always celebrated just about everything. As a family we come together from many cultures and religions. We don’t recognise borders, have always been colour blind and – to quote a dear friend Adi – we don’t tolerate other religions –  we respect and celebrate them. I am a Moslem who believes in my faith and has celebrated Christmas all my life. I thank my parents for this. May my children continue our rainbow tradition ♥

But I digress :)

My intention was to take a tiny breather amidst all this loving chaos with our recent trip to the Hamam down in The Village. A gorgeously indulgent birthday present for Spouse and me from 2 amazing women and friends Delectable and Pingaling. Thank you. For knowing exactly what we needed ♥ For those 3 hours where we forgot schedules and kids. Where we were bathed and black-soaped, steamed and sauna-ed, gommaged and massaged, soaked in herbs and unctuous oils, served tea and sweets. Where we snoozed and savoured.

You can’t take pictures inside. And don’t take my word for it. Go! :)

Communal bathing is just the coolest tradition. The Moroccans got that right.

Cause every now and then we all need to give it up and just give in. Slip on that paper bikini. Lay out on heated tiles. Get lathered to within and inch of your life. Celebrate indulgence :)

xox

About goddessmoments

Am happiest when exploring our ever-shrinking big blue marble with my camera in hand.
This entry was posted in Stuff and Snippets. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hamam Time…

  1. Karen Loong says:

    I love the baklava they give u there!!! To die for… Time for me to get back there again soon!

Leave a Reply

